Knitting New Year’s resolutions

I am not one for making New Year’s resolutions.   Mainly because I feel guilty when I don’t keep them which is always the case.  But I decided to make an exception.   Why have I changed my mind?  Well it all started with 72 little squares.

IMG_2109There were only 3½ inches by 3½ inches.  No, I did not make them.  These little crocheted squares were in the yarn donation bin at the Greenlawn library where my Heartwarmers group meets.  We use the donated yarn to make all kinds of things for charity.  No one at the meeting wanted these little squares, so I bought them home to put them  together to create a baby blanket.  Some of the left over yarn was included in the bag with the squares.

As I was sewing the squares together, I thought about the person who had crocheted these little squares.  Was she in a nursing home and not able to crochet anymore?  Did she pass away?  What ever the reason, I am glad her family did not end up throwing them all away.IMG_2132

When I finished the blanket, I realized that she had left her crochet hook and the instructions in the bag.  The instructions called for 99 squares in total with 11 rows of 9 squares each.  Since there was only 72 squares, I made 9 rows of 8 squares each with a simple dc border- a slightly smaller blanket but still a good 31 inches by 34 inches.

How did this start me making resolutions?  I though about what would happen to all my projects if I were to suddenly pass away.  I certainly am not as organized as this lady was.  I don’t have everything pertaining to a project together.  I have way too many projects and they are all over the place.  How would my husband or my son be able to give away these projects so that someone can finish them?

So, with all this in mind, I made my knitting and crochet resolution for 2015:

  1. I will organized ALL my WIPs by placing everything for each project in a bag.
  2. I will not  buy any new yarn or take any new donated yarn – I will start using up the yarn that I already have.
  3. I will finish my charity WIPs first.
  4. I will track all my projects on ravelry.
  5. I will organize all my yarn on ravelry and give or sell any yarn that I will not be using.
  6. I will not start a new project (unless it is for charity) until I have finished the current WIPs.

We will see how far I get into 2015 before I revert back to my old habits.  I certainly hope I can make some changes that will became new habits.

Keep on knitting!

Ruth

About rmusso

I am from India and I came with my parents to New York in 1969 after spending two years in England. I’m married to a wonderful man named Anthony and we have a son named Nathan. I am a Christian and worship a mighty God! I love to knit and do it every day with a little bit of crocheting throw in. I just knit for fun but recently have started knitting for charity. I am trying to use the talent God gave me to help others.
This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Knitting New Year’s resolutions

  1. Lee-Ann says:

    Great resolutions! I need some similar guidelines for myself… Don’t we all?
    My favorite part: you wont start a new project UNLESS it is for charity 😀

  2. Gobetween says:

    I think you did a great job of putting it all together. It is not easy matching another person’s crochet tension. I love the end result and reading about the history of the squares. I hope the recipient enjoys the warmth it will provide as well as the story.

Leave a Reply

