Lace Knitting

I really love lace knitting and I read some simple but every effective tips that was posted by Lynn, a member of my knitting guild, from Sivia Harding here.

I started on a wonderful lace shawl called the Peacock Feathers Shawl designed by Dorothy Siemens in January.  I am knitting it in JaggerSpun Zephyr Wool-Silk 2/18 Lace Weight Yarn in white.

DSC03593As you can see from it’s baby picture (at 10 stitches) it is tiny when it starts out. It begins with three stitches and then increases every other row to create a triangular shape.  I am now at 204th  row and have 406 stitches on the needle.  It will eventually grow to 495 stitches in row 249.  So, it takes longer and longer to do each row.

It will not reach it true beauty until it is finished and blocked.

IMG_0196

I have a few more tips on lace knitting that I have learned through the years from trial and error.

  • Use plenty of stitch markers.  In this shawl, I used one in the center, and then one between each pattern repeat.
  • Count and then count some more.  I count the number of stitches between the markers once I finish that section to make sure I have knitted the pattern correctly.  It is very easy to miss a yarn over.  It is much easier to catch and fix the mistake right when it happens than two rows later.
  • Learn to read the pattern.  If you know your pattern and know how to read your knitting, you will see immediately when you are knitting is out of sync with the pattern.

The only good thing about this extreme cold and snowfall in the northeast is that I have more time to knit and the shawl is going very fast.

Keep on knitting!

Ruth

About rmusso

I am from India and I came with my parents to New York in 1969 after spending two years in England. I’m married to a wonderful man named Anthony and we have a son named Nathan. I am a Christian and worship a mighty God! I love to knit and do it every day with a little bit of crocheting throw in. I just knit for fun but recently have started knitting for charity. I am trying to use the talent God gave me to help others.
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

