A Challenge

My friend Lynne handed me a plastic bag and said make an afghan with it.  Before I had a chance to say anything, she was off doing something else.  I bought the bag home and found eight balls of yarn labeled, Berella “4” Knitting Worsted Weight in a color called, Wine Mist.  Lynne collects acrylic yarn for charity knitting and coordinates and lot of different charity projects.  She knows that I like to make afghan squares.  So, what do I do with this?

Image

The color was rather drab and I did not want to make a whole afghan with it.  The bag sat in my hallway for a few days.

Inspiration hit me when I was looking through the Spring 2014 Creative knitting magazine. Why do they publish these magazines so far ahead?  Well anyway, an interesting pattern called  a Pop Art Afghan designed by Beth Whiteside caught my eye. The afghan is built from short-row strips of stockinette stitch squares that are reminiscent of American folk art.  The squares in the magazine were made up of very bright colors.

Image

I decided that I could use my yarn with some brighter colors to contrast it.  Here is my square:

Image

Not quite as bright as the Pop Art Afghan but it looked interesting to me.  I am not sure now much of the off-white yarn I have but I think I can mix in some of my other left-over yarns with my wine mist.  I can always ask Lynne for some more yarn! I will let you know and show you how it turns out.  I am up to the challenge.

Happy and healthy New Year to everyone.  Keep on knitting!

About rmusso

I am from India and I came with my parents to New York in 1969 after spending two years in England. I’m married to a wonderful man named Anthony and we have a son named Nathan. I am a Christian and worship a mighty God! I love to knit and do it every day with a little bit of crocheting throw in. I just knit for fun but recently have started knitting for charity. I am trying to use the talent God gave me to help others.
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Challenge

  1. Mardy B. says:

    Love what you’re doing with the yarn to make it more interesting.

Leave a Reply

