Crochet Bobbles

In the previous century, I bought a Leisure Arts booklet called 60 Easy-To-Knit Pattern Stitches Combine to Create Sampler Afghans.  I was so excited that I decided that I was going to knit all 60 squares and make three afghans and give them as gifts to my mother, my mother-in-law and my sister.

As I was cleaning up and organizing my UFOs I discovered that I had made 16 squares.  It was time to finish up this project!  I could knit four more squares and do just one afghan.

DSC02981

As I was zipping along, the twentieth square, called the Large Bobble Rib, bought me to a grinding halt.  Why?  Because  I hate knitting bobbles!  All that back and forth on a small number of stitches drive me crazy.  This square had 9 bobbles on every fourth row.  I will probably have to do more than 160 bobbles to finish this square.  Can I endure this torture?

I couldn’t do it – I put it down after the first bobble.  Did I want this to remain an UFO for another 15 years? NO – I will not let a bobble defeat me.  I then remembered that I pinned a tutorial on how to crochet bobbles into a knitted project (see here).

I tried it and I could not believe how easy it is and the bobbles look so uniform.  I am actually having fun knitting (and crocheting) this square.

DSC02983

I am well on my way to finishing my square.  I will post pictures of the finished afghan soon and it will be another Sean’s Gift blanket.

Keep on knitting!

About rmusso

I am from India and I came with my parents to New York in 1969 after spending two years in England. I’m married to a wonderful man named Anthony and we have a son named Nathan. I am a Christian and worship a mighty God! I love to knit and do it every day with a little bit of crocheting throw in. I just knit for fun but recently have started knitting for charity. I am trying to use the talent God gave me to help others.
This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Crochet Bobbles

  1. Verónica says:

    I knit an afghan from that leaflet, including that first square!!

Leave a Reply

