Persistence

I started my Knit Picks Elizabeth I Dainty Bess scarf in March 9, 2007. That is six years ago. I had done the Town & Country and Glorianna from Elizabeth I and Dainty Bess is the last one.  I am using Knit Picks Alpaca Cloud in moss.

The patterns are inspired by Queen Elizabeth I. The Dainty Bess pattern was on one of the silk stockings owned by the queen. The patterns are all beautiful but this last one was giving me all kinds of problems. This is the point that I stopped at years ago:

DSC03319

and it has been in my ravelery wip queue ever since.

I kept loosing track of my stitches and when I made mistakes I could not frog it back very easily. At one point I started over and I only did  an inch before I got frustrated and once again and it got left in a bag in the closet to be forgotten.

Now I have the bug to finish my wips. I picked this scarf because it was the first one I found rummaging through the closet.  This time I decided to switch needles. I thought that the originally needles were too slippery and causing the stitches to slip and slide and drop. I switched to wooden needles and went to up one size to a 7. It has been two days since I started and the scarf is already 5 inches long. I hope to zip through this and finish it up real soon.

Now that is persistence.

Keep on knitting!

About rmusso

I am from India and I came with my parents to New York in 1969 after spending two years in England. I’m married to a wonderful man named Anthony and we have a son named Nathan. I am a Christian and worship a mighty God! I love to knit and do it every day with a little bit of crocheting throw in. I just knit for fun but recently have started knitting for charity. I am trying to use the talent God gave me to help others.
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

